FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

invariant NK cells

Forum rules
Please be polite and civil. We know that troubleshooting is vexing...
<<

jamesaries

Participant

Post Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:34 am

invariant NK cells

Dear all,

I'm new to the Cytof so please bear with me. I'm analysing PBMCs post-transplant but currently I'm trying to optimise my panel on healthy samples from frozen.

I have an invariant NK cell marker (TCRVa24Ja18) that I am using from Fluidigm. I have used a protocol that combines the cell surface followed by the nuclear staining protocol (I have other markers too!) and used 1uL of the antibody.

I realise the population is very small (?0.2% of lymphocytes) but I have approx 700,000 cells, so I would have expected to find some positive cells, but it doesn't look like it has worked.

I wondered if anyone else has any experience of using this marker? Have you had to titrate up a lot? Any good positive control cells I could use?

Many thanks,

James
<<

mleipold

Guru

Post Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:35 pm

Re: invariant NK cells

Hi James,

Did you mean invariant NKT cells?

Could you give us more step-wise details of your protocol, as well as your gating strategy example (bivariates starting from Ungated cells down through to your target gate)?

I will say: I recommend titering even Fluidigm antibodies under your experimental conditions. I did a study about a year ago, using only Fluidigm antibodies. Of the 20 antibodies included in the panel, I used 6 at 0.5uL/test, 12 at 1uL/test, and 2 at 1.25uL/test. So, under your particular assay conditions, the recommended Fluidigm titer may not be optimal.

Mike
<<

cguidos

Contributor

Post Thu Oct 13, 2016 4:11 pm

Hi James

We have also had difficulty finding iNKT cells in PBMC. I'm told that in contrast to mice, iNKT do not circulate much in human and so very few are found in PBMC. I'm also told that they do not survive freeze/thaw well so you might try fresh PBMC if you haven't done so yet

Cindy
<<

PSubrahmanyam