FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Data Analysis creating flow set

Forum rules
Please be polite and civil. We know that troubleshooting is vexing...
<<

juliam

Participant

Post Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:21 pm

Data Analysis creating flow set

Hi Everyone,
I am new to data analysis in R .
I would like to use the package HDCytoData.
1. How to create the flowset object so that it would include the panel columns eg. Y89Di Pr141Di together with metadata file columns eg. group_id patient_id sample_id population_id?

2. So far I did create the flowset with 'read.flowSet' function.
When I check if all panel columns are in the flowSet object with
all(panel$fcs_colname %in% colnames(fs)) i get FALSE.
However,
> colnames(fs)
[1] "Y89Di" "Pr141Di" "Nd142Di" "Nd143Di" "Nd144Di" "Nd146Di" "Sm147Di" "Nd148Di" "Sm149Di"
[10] "Nd150Di" "Eu151Di" "Sm152Di" "Eu153Di" "Sm154Di" "Gd155Di" "Gd156Di" "Tb159Di" "Gd160Di"
[19] "Dy162Di" "Dy163Di" "Dy164Di" "Ho165Di" "Er166Di" "Er168Di" "Tm169Di" "Yb171Di" "Yb172Di"
[28] "Yb173Di" "Yb176Di" "Bi209Di"
> panel$fcs_colname
[1] "Y89Di" "Pr141Di" "Nd142Di" "Nd143Di" "Nd144Di" "Nd146Di" "Sm147Di" "Nd148Di" "Sm149Di"
[10] "Nd150Di" "Eu151Di" "Sm152Di" "Sm153Di" "Sm154Di" "Gd155Di" "Gd156Di" "Tb159Di" "Gd160Di"
[19] "Dy162Di" "Dy163Di" "Dy164Di" "Ho165Di" "Er166Di" "Er168Di" "Tm169Di" "Yb171Di" "Yb172Di"
[28] "Yb173Di" "Yb176Di" "Bi209Di"

I dont understand why, and how it shall be changed..
<<

jimbomahoney

Master

Post Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:45 am

Re: Data Analysis creating flow set

Hi Julia,

It sounds like you might be following this workflow?

Which dataset are you using?

Re: Your first question, it's my understanding that the panel and metadata are separate objects (dataframes) from the flowset, but can be combined into a special structure called an SCE e.g. see the following section from the link I posted (points of interest in bold):

Data organization